BC Standouts Set to Play in Senior All-Star Games

Eight former Eagles scheduled to play

CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. – Eight former Boston College standouts are slated to play in four upcoming senior all-star games.

Offensive tackle Aaron Monteiro will play in the SPIRAL Tropical Bowl in Daytona Beach, Fla. on January 13. Kickoff is set for 10 a.m. with live broadcast coverage on

Wide receiver Jeff Smith and defensive tackle Ray Smith will play in the eighth annual NFLPA Collegiate Bowl on Saturday, January 19 at the Rose Bowl. The game is scheduled for 5 p.m. ET with live broadcast coverage on FS1. Both Eagles will be on the National Team, coached by long-time NFL player and coach Mike Tice.

Defensive back Lukas Denis is scheduled to play for the East team in the 94th annual East-West Shrine Game on Saturday, January 19. The game will be held at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. with a 3 p.m. kickoff on NFL Network. The East-West Shrine Game is the longest running college all-star football game in the nation.

BC has tied a school record with four Eagles playing in the Reese’s Senior Bowl on Saturday, January 26 at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Ala. Defensive end Zach Allen, offensive lineman Chris Lindstrom, defensive back Will Harris, and tight end Tommy Sweeney will take part in the premier collegiate postseason all-star game. NFL Network will broadcast the entire week’s practices along with the game on January 26 with kickoff set for 2:30 p.m.

Monteiro made his 31st consecutive career start at left tackle in BC’s final game of the season Nov. 29 vs. Syracuse. Monteiro developed into one of the top linemen in the ACC as a senior and was an All-ACC third-team selection.

Jeff Smith was named BC’s Big Play Award recipient after the 2018 season. Smith averaged nearly 20 yards per reception with a team-best six touchdown receptions in 2018 in addition to throwing for and rushing for a touchdown this season. Smith played in 46 career games for the Eagles at both wide receiver and quarterback.

Ray Smith captured All-ACC third-team honors for the first time as a senior. He was part of a stout BC defensive line that ranked in the Top 20 nationally in sacks in 2018.

Denis, a 2017 Walter Camp All-American, totaled eight interceptions over the last two seasons as the starter at free safety. His 59-yard interception return for a touchdown in the season-opener over UMass was the first pick-six of Denis’ career.

An All-ACC second-team selection, Allen led BC in tackles-for-loss (15.0) and ranks among the top 10 in school history in sacks and TFLs. He was rated by Pro Football Focus as the top edge rusher in the ACC and was a semifinalist for the Lott IMPACT Trophy. Allen was named the Connecticut Player of the Year by the Walter Camp Football Foundation and was named a second-team All-American by Pro Football Focus.

Lindstrom allowed zero sacks the entire season and just three hurries as one of the nation’s most dominant offensive linemen. He graded out as BC’s top offensive lineman on the season as he earned All-ACC honors for the second time in his career after being a second-team selection in 2017. Lindstrom was named an All-American by the AFCA (second team), The Athletic (second team) and the Associated Press (third team).

Harris earned All-ACC third-team honors for the first time in his career as he finished the year with 75 tackles, fourth on the team. Harris earned the William J. Flynn award after the season as BC’s most valuable player. He shared the honor with Sweeney.

Sweeney was named the ACC’s top tight end after finishing second on the team in receptions (32) and third in receiving yards (348). The John Mackey semifinalist was an All-ACC third-team selection in 2017.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top
%d bloggers like this: