Long and Richardson Named to 2020 Preseason Watch Lists


Long Named to John Mackey Award Watch List


CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. –  The Friends of John Mackey have released the 2020 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by a vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

Boston College junior tight end Hunter Long was named to the watch list after earning All-ACC third-team honors last season.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey.

Long led Boston College with 509 receiving yards in 2019. He finished the season with 28 receptions and two receiving touchdowns. His 72-yard touchdown reception at Louisville was the longest reception of his career a year ago.


Richardson Named to Butkus Award Watch List


Former BC standout Luke Kuechly won the award in 2011

 CHESTNUT HILL, Mass. –  The Butkus Award® honoring the nation’s best linebackers kicked off its 36th annual selection process today by announcing its collegiate preseason watch list.

The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes candidates from 44 universities, including Boston College graduate student linebacker Max Richardson. Former BC standout Luke Kuechly is the only player in school history to win the Butkus Award in 2011.

It marks the second major award Richardson has been named to the watch list for. He was also named to the watch list of the 26th annual Chuck Bednarik Award, presented annually to the outstanding defensive player in college football.

Richardson was eighth nationally with 72 solo tackles in 2019 en route to being named to the All-ACC second-team. He led the ACC in solo tackles and ranked among the conference leaders in total tackles (108).

The Georgia native led Boston College last season with 14.5 tackles behind the line of scrimmage and added 3.5 sacks, two pass breakups, and one forced fumble.

The watch list contains 51 linebackers, mirroring the legendary “51” pro jersey associated with the Award’s namesake Dick Butkus, who was recognized by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history.

Semifinalists are expected to be named November 2, finalists November 23, and winners on or before December 8. Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement to win the award.

Formed in 1985 and expanded in 2008, the Butkus Award honors linebackers at three levels while supporting causes important to the Butkus family. They include the I Play Clean® initiative promoting training and nutrition instead of performance-enhancing drugs, and the Butkus Takes Heart™ initiative encouraging early cardiovascular screening among adults.

The Butkus Award,, @ButkusAward2020, and on Facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the nonprofit Butkus Foundation. Selectors and selection criteria are located on the official website. Search social media for #butkusaward2020.

The Butkus Award® is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top
%d bloggers like this: