AJ Dillon Selected to 2020 State Farm All-Star Football Challenge

AJ Dillon selected

CHICAGO  AJ Dillon will participate in the 2020 State Farm All-Star Football Challenge at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. The 22nd edition of the State Farm All-Star Football Challenge will air on ESPN2 at 9 p.m. ET on Friday, Jan. 31. The skills competition will feature 24 of college football’s brightest stars divided into six teams based on their college conference. Each team will consist of four players from the same conference that will compete for conference supremacy in a series of skills competitions. The conferences represented are the ACC, the Big Ten, the Big 12, the Pac-12, the SEC, and four of the best players outside of the Power Five that will be called the “Wild Card” team.

Dillon is the third BC Eagle to take part in the event, joining Mike Cloud (1999) and Matt Ryan (2008).

Dillon was named an Associated Press Third-Team All-American following a standout junior season. Dillon, who declared for the 2020 NFL Draft in December, led the ACC and was sixth in the country with 1,685 rushing yards.

Dillon left BC with 4,382 career rushing yards and 38 rushing touchdowns; both school records. His 4,618 all-purpose yards and 40 total touchdowns are also the most in Boston College history.

Following a breakout freshman campaign in 2017, Dillon was named the ACC Rookie of the Year and ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year. He was also voted to the FWAA and Freshman All-America teams. Dillon earned the George “Bulger” Lowe Award, “New England’s Heisman Trophy”, in 2017. He repeated that feat in 2019.

For the third straight season, Dillon was named to the All-ACC first-team in 2019. His 14 career 150-yard rushing games were the most by any ACC player over the last 20 seasons. Dillon finishes his career fourth all-time in rushing in the ACC; 227 yards shy of the record.

Each player will individually participate in a timed event, and then finish with a full team event. All events will be timed and have individual winners, which will compile into a cumulative score to determine the winning team. For example, the quarterbacks from each team will compete against each other to win their competition. But ultimately, their time will be added to the times of the other competitors on their conference designated team to have a final team score.

Individual events in the 2020 State Farm All-Star Football Challenge include the State Farm QB Accuracy Competition, the Mercedes-Benz Obstacle Course, the Rocket Mortgage Strength Challenge and the Hands Competition. To conclude the program, the players will compete as teams in the State Farm Team Competition.

As many as 10 athletes participating in the State Farm All-Star Football Challenge are named as first-round prospects, according to various draft projections. Additionally, eight players earned Associated Press All-America distinction following the 2019 season.

Alumni of the State Farm All-Star Football Challenge include 81 first-round NFL Draft picks, including 38 Pro Bowlers, such as Drew Brees, Aaron Rodgers, Matt Ryan, Patrick Mahomes, Jalen Ramsey, Dalvin Cook, Derwin James, Landon Collins, Von Miller, Vernon Davis, Joe Flacco, Dez Bryant, Donovan McNabb, Reggie Wayne, and Edgerrin James, as well as three Heisman Trophy winners (Ron Dayne, Troy Smith, and Jason White).



Korey Schrock, Intersport, [email protected], 312-724-7848

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top
%d bloggers like this: