NGSC Sports

Updated AFC South Roster Cuts to 75

As the  pre-season winds down teams must start making roster cuts. The first round of cuts is due by Tuesday, August 26, 2014 at 4:00 p.m. EST where teams must get down to 75 players. The final round of cuts is due by August 30, 2014 at 4:00 p.m. EST when teams must be down to the league mandated 53 man roster size.

Players unclaimed will pass through waivers on Sunday, August 31 at noon EST and teams may start signing those players to their practice squads. Please note the NFL recently added two extra spots to the practice squad and changed the eligibility rules to make it more player friendly.

We take a look around the AFC South and update you with the list of round 1 cuts per each team in the division.

Houston Texans

On Monday the Texans released nine players:

WR Joe Adams

WR Alec Lemon

DL David Hunter

DL Austin Brown

LB Terrance Lloyd

LB Lawrence Sidbury

DB Junior Mertile

OL Sam Longo

RB William Powell

They also placed David Quessenberry on the NFI list.

Update: The Texans have placed Lonnie Ballentine on injured reserve. They had to make 2 more roster moves but we have not yet received that information. The Texans also released LB Paul Hazel, OL Conor Bofelli, and WR Anthony McClung. They are now at the league mandated 75 man roster.

Indianapolis Colts

As of Monday, August 25 at 6:00 p.m. EST the Colts had released 11 players:

DB Johnny Adams

DB Qua Cox

OL Andre Cureton

OL Marcus Hall

DB Kameron Jackson

WR Nu’Keese Richardson

LB Jonathon Sharpe

DB David Sims

WR Eric Thomas

WR Tony Washington

FB Cameron White

Update: Per Stampede Blue:

The Colts placed running back Vick Ballard, tackle Ulrick John, and running back Deji Karim on injured reserve and placed fullback Stanley Havili on the reserve/physically unable to play list.

Jacksonville Jaguars

WR Ramses Barden

LB Allen Bradford

OL Antoine Caldwell

DL David Carter

DB Mike Harris

LB Josh Hull

OL Patrick Lewis

WR Kenny Shaw

RB Harvey Unga

LS Charley Hughlett

DB Joe Young

They also moved Aaron Colvin to the NFI list.

Update: The Jaguars have waived WR Lamaar Thomas, RB Terrance Cobb, and DT David Carter(waived/injured). They are now at the league mandated 75 players.

Tennessee Titans

DB Marc Anthony

DL Lanier Coleman

OL Tyler Horn

WR Julian Horton

RB Waymon James

WR Jaz Reynolds

DB Hakeem Smith

WR Derel Walker

LB Jonathan Willard

OL Kevin Danser

DB Micah Pellerin

LB Kendrick Adams

Update: The Titans have placed linebacker Colin McCarthy on injured reserve and waived Gabe Ikard as injured. They released wide receiver Isaiah Williams and linebacker David Hinds. Also, they signed former Atlanta Falcons and Boston College quarterback Dominique Davis. They are now at the league mandated 75 man roster.

Stay tuned in to NGSC Sports for further updates as cuts are announced ahead of the deadline.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: